Down the Rabbit Hole

JPEG image-AB7B2CD6082F-1

Are you familiar with that feeling of getting sucked down a rabbit hole and losing all sense of direction and perspective?

My little episode got triggered my an assignment for Blogging 201: Branding and Growth. The assignment was:

Audit your brand — look at all the ways you communicate information about your blog to make sure they’re consistent and focused and make one update to reinforce it.

It started innocently enough. Just a few minor adjustments, I thought. It sure would be nice if my background color was a closer match to the sky in my header. And then there is the issue of how my site shows up on the iPad. It’s okay … I guess. But, I’m just not happy with the transition.

The more I tweaked the more dissatisfied I became. Time to go theme shopping. I’ve gotten lost down this rabbit hole before; just the same I told myself this time would be different.

I get lost … disoriented. So many themes to choose from and me without a clear notion for what I’m after. It’s a deadly combination especially when you couple that with poor visual retention for what I liked and didn’t like about each theme.

I remember very early in the process realizing that 2016 had been introduced. I tried it and liked what I saw; but that would be too easy. Lazy even. Shouldn’t I have to work at this a little harder?  I zeroed in on:

  • Book Lite
  • Watermark
  • Purpose
  • Paulie
  • Editor
  • Writr
  • Independent Publisher
  • Anemone
  • Venture
  • Jason
  • Grisalle

When I get lost down the rabbit hole I tend to have severe tunnel vision. I’m on a mission but not clear to me who is driving the bus. Thoughts about eat and sleep tend to get ignored. I went into picmonkey and cropped ten different versions of my header. About midnight I remembered to dig out my notebook and take notes for what I liked and disliked about each theme. I also brewed a fresh pot of coffee.

By 3:00AM I had it winnowed down to: Book Lite, Paulie, Independent Publisher and Editor. It finally occurred to me to take screen shots of the various front pages.

By 6:00AM I could no longer ignore my exhaustion and the pain in my lower back. I joined my sleeping dogs on the couch and took a quick cat nap – maybe an hour.

When I go down that rabbit hole, life as we know it STOPS. I poured myself a fresh cup of coffee and sat back down at the computer. I was reviewing my screen shots when a little voice inside thought to ask, What happened to 2016?  I know I don’t have to bore you with the rest of the story since you’re reading this on the 2016 theme.

I chalk this up as evidence for the tug of war that exists between my head  and my gut. In my gut, I knew … but I had to go through this whole other thought process, look under every rock and ask all the questions before I could get there and simply go with my gut.

What do you think? Was it wasted time?

13 thoughts on “Down the Rabbit Hole

  1. Trust me I know the feeling only too well. Atleast you wanted to spend some money on it. Me? I was looking for free themes. One look at my blog and you’ll know for yourself!
    Anyway, I like your style of writing. So I think I’ll come back later. 🙂
    Feel free to visit http://www.notionlux.wordpress.com and leave comments, if you will.
    Cheers!

    Like

  2. I’ve been consciously trying to take the easier choice when something like that comes up, as long as the consequences for an incorrect decision aren’t too severe. I’m very susceptible to “decision fatigue” and that approach helps. I find that the consequences of decisions made quickly are just as good or better than the consequences of decisions that take a lot of time and effort.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Not a waste of time at all! I’ve had my blog for a few months and I’ve changed my theme at least 3 or 4 times. Your idea of what you want changes, so will the appearance of your blog, and with so many choices it’s bound to take a while.

    Also, I like your writing style! Looking forward to reading more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve lost count of how many different themes I have embodied. What I didn’t mention is that just last month I took the class on customizing my blog. I was just getting that theme set up to my liking and so it’s a little disheartening to have gone back to the drawing board once again. Then again, you’re absolutely right; it’s a learning process.

      Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Tell us what you think ...

