Class is in session

My master gardening class began last week but problems with the weather meant that our handbooks did not arrive on time. Things somehow felt more real, this week, when I was handed a goody bag with handbook, magnifying glass, pen and prescription pad. Prescription pad? Really? Somehow it hasn’t sunk into my psyche that I may one day be a resource for others on the care and maintenance of their yards and gardens. Right now I’m focused on breathing new life into my own yard and then, perhaps, I’ll feel qualified to help others.

Truth is, right now I’m feeling a little overwhelmed by this undertaking. Seriously, even the handbook is intimidating. The photograph doesn’t do it justice. That sucker weighs five pounds, is two inches thick and has 900 pages …

IMG_8931

… 900 pages of specific, detail oriented information. It’s enough to make my head spin. I tend to get bogged down in details and lose sight of the big picture. It makes reading a challenge when there is a voice inside your head asking why your reading this in the first place and wondering what questions will be on the test. Forget about retention … I’m reading with only half a brain.

But, I dream of having a yard with edible landscaping. It’s been my dream since the early nineties when I first picked up a book on the subject by Rosalind Creasey. I fairly salivated at the notion of having artichokes and asparagus interspersed with petunias and rainbow chard as a focal point in my front yard.

IMG_8937

For the next eleven weeks I’ll be slowly working my way through the class and book while doing my best to wrap my mind around levels of detail and observation that don’t come easily. This is all reminiscent of being in school. For Homework this week I have 85 pages to read and a vocabulary list of 200 words to become familiar with. This is a brave new world I’m exploring and I want to develop a strong and solid foundation. For the duration, if anyone needs me this is where you’ll find me.

IMG_8935

16 thoughts on “Class is in session

  1. This is such an interesting project. Why not consider using your blog to weekly do a review of the information you have acquired that week and post it to the Salon to share with us. It would help you (review) and us (learn). In any event, I wish you the very best of luck with this interesting project, although I am sure you don’t need luck you are so motivated.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Bernadette. I will most definitely be e keeping everyone apprised of my progress and struggles. Being able to share this journey plays a very big part in keeping me motivated, engaged and invested in this project.

      Like

  2. Dear Patrice, I also took a Master Gardener’s class here in North Carolina..and remember being intimidated by our huge resource book (in our case an extra large 3 ring binder.) But while it was work, and did remind me a bit of being in school your book will always be there as a resource…you can always tell others you will do some research and get back to them…and you’ll be so glad you took the class! It’s been four years for me, but I am so glad I did it! From one one MG to another…enjoy! Joanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the words of encouragement, Joanne. Right now this feels like a foreign language and I need to get conversant. It may take me awhile to find that balance between cultivating a solid working knowledge and information overload.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. WOW! I admire you! I would love to have my front and back yard looking that beautiful but I don’t have a green thumb at all! That has never been one of my passions but yet I have always thought about it. I wish you much luck and I hope you share what you learn with us so we can take it to our own home and gardens! 🙂

    Like

    1. Laura, I have very little experience to draw from that would reassure me that I can pull this off. This is very much a leap of faith I am taking. Nothing ventured, nothing gained. A journey has to start somewhere.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear Patrice, I hope in full recovery by means of personal empowerment, and the responsive guide of the psychiatrist, the community and a people centred health care. I believe in the positive experience of Patricia Deegan. Have a good day and a better night. Giuseppina.

    Liked by 1 person

Don't be shy. Tell us what you think ...

